Binding the Book

Just the other day, I was staring at the horizon, listening to the waves slap the hulls.

“I like your aura,” she says, “what do you do?”

“Lately, I’ve been calling myself a writer.” I reply.

We are out on a big cat, doing the booze cruise and picnic on the beach thing; about 25 women and 15 men. I felt like Custer before we even left the dock.

“I dreamt about you, you know. Well, maybe not exactly you, but I dreamt that I was going to meet a writer who would write my story.”

“What do you do then, that needs telling?”

She smiles and says, “Well, it’s just that my path is a miracle. I mean, my life is such a mysterious thing with the most amazing signs along the way.”

“How did you end up here?” I ask. “I came down on a mission and then stayed because I got a job,” she answers.

“Mission?” I ask.

“Yes, well, that’s one of the signs I got. I was just finishing up at the seminary and one of my teachers asked if I felt called to do missionary work. So, I gave away everything I owned, then my house burnt down and now I am here. I just followed the signs.”

“I see.” I say. “What’s the job?”

“Oh, construction management,” she says. “Steel beams and girders and things like that.”

“Raising high the roof beam?” I ask.

“What’s that?” she frowns.

“Oh, just a writer’s joke. What else do you do?”

“Well, I’m a Reiki Master Practitioner and a massage therapist.”

“That would explain the aura comment then. Why don’t you write your own story?”

“Can’t write a letter, let alone a book. What kind of writing do you do?”

“The kind with words.”

“Funny. I mean what genre?”

“Probably metaphysical is the most apt description.”

“You don’t do biographies then?”

“Nope, never have. I am, however, working on my own story.”

“It must be interesting too.” she says.

“Yes,” I reply, “it must be. If not, no one will read it, will they?”

About Leslie Fieger

Author of several books including The DELFIN Trilogy, Your Prosperity Paradigm, The Master Key, Alexandra's DragonFire and Awakenings. Speaker; Meme Therapist and Professional Beach Bum
This entry was posted in Random Musings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

